Tags

, , , , , ,

Well, the first week of October is almost over and autumn garden chores are in full swing. Yesterday I planted the ‘Music’ garlic and today I planted some tulips.

…I really need to stop buying new types of black tulips. I just don’t have room for more. This new one is ‘Black Parrot’; like other parrot types it has ruffled petals and large flowers.

Yesterday I also harvested the only head of Savoy cabbage ‘Melissa’ left; that’s the last of those seeds, so next year I’ll try something different.

I’ve also started reacclimatising the indoor plants. Some of them don’t seem to care, but the ‘Meyer’ lemon, for example, will shriek and faint (i.e. drop all its leaves) if I just bring it into the house suddenly. The jasmines (Jasminum sambac) will take a hard pruning and then a damn good spray of insecticidal soap – I’ve never managed to bring them through winter free of whitefly, but this helps.

I’m undecided if I should let my dwarf pomegranate (Punica granatum ‘Nana’) go dormant for winter, or keep it as a houseplant. It did marvelously well this year and even set fruit (which the motherhating squirrels stole). Other types of pomegranate do need a winter dormancy, but this one doesn’t seem to. On the other hand, it would be much easier to let it go dormant and keep it in the basement rather than finding space for it with the other houseplants…

What else…oh yes, I chopped back the butterfly pea (Clitoria ternatea). It’s two years/three seasons old now and managed to pull through both winters fairly well, although last winter it got some red spider mite. It was also rather overgrown, so I pruned it back quite hard – I have no idea how this plant will respond (rejuvenate), but even if it doesn’t make it through, well, I have more seeds and I’ll have learned something.

