Tags

, , , , , , ,

The Black Flowers page (When Black Roses Bloom) is updated to include the ‘Winter Dreams Black’ hellebore that I got last year. It’s a gorgeous flower. I clipped last year’s foliage off – it helps protect the plant over winter, but by spring it looks pretty tatty and obscures the view of the flowers.

The marsh marigold (Caltha palustris) also finally flowered this year. I’ve been waiting two years for this; this is the third season I’ve had it. I thought it would flower last year, but the one little spray of buds never opened. It’s really making up for lost time now, though.

Caltha palustris

Caltha palustris

It’s in a 1-gallon pot, and in the picture it was on the patio, but I’ve since moved it to a tub of water along with the dwarf papyrus (Cyperus isocladus). The weather’s still a little iffy to be placing the papyrus out, but it should be fine.

The bloodroot (Sanguinaria canadensis) has been and is nearly gone, the moss phlox (Phlox subulata ‘Emerald Blue’) is gearing up to enter full bloom, and the tulips are just starting to open. I bought another Venus’ flytrap (Dionaea muscipula) on impulse at a garden centre a couple days ago, mostly because they looked quite healthy (they usually look pretty sad when you see them in most garden centres).

The not-so-black calla lilies (Zantedeschia ‘Schwartzwalder’) are already blooming. I kept them in their pots in the basement over winter and they started sprouting back in March, so they’re well ahead. Someone gave me some ‘Black Star’ callas as a gift and I just planted them, so I hope these turn out better colourwise. The ‘Karma Choc’ dahlia is well away and the three cuttings I took a month ago are still alive.

I guess that’s about all that’s going on for now. The onions and peas have sprouted and the artichokes are about ready for planting out. The herbs (Greek oregano, a couple types of thyme, orange mint, valerian, wintergreen, orris root, pineapple sage) I got two weeks ago are all hardened off now, so it will be time to plant them out soon too. Tomorrow I head to the NANPS native plant sale.

