Tags

,

Flowering surprise number 4 this year, I think: the jade plant (Crassula ovata) flowered.

Jade plant flowers

Jade plant flowers

I only noticed it a few days ago, because I try to ignore it as much as possible. Not only is it one of those plants that are famous for being low maintenance, but it’s really not a plant I care about. So why do I have one taking up valuable space in the window? Let’s just say that other people in the house like them and it isn’t worth the noise I’d have to endure if I got rid of it. Of course, I’m the one who gets stuck looking after it…

Anyway, this plant is at least twelve years old, maybe fifteen, and this is the first time it’s flowered. In fact, I’ve never seen one flower in person before. I’ll admit I like it a little better now (but not enough to keep it if I could get away with giving it away). I find it interesting that on this same inflorescence, there is a tetramerous flower (4 of each part) and a pentamerous flower (5 of each part).

Another thing is that the ‘Stella’ fig (Ficus carica ‘Stella’) is starting to resprout. I’m not very happy about this – I was really hoping to send it into dormancy and overwinter it in some out-of-the-way corner. It had already dropped most of its summer leaves and I was waiting for the last few to go yellow and fall, but they never did and now all the nodal buds are sprouting. Sigh. I really hope I can give it enough light so it has a chance to make it through to spring in good health.

