Tags

, , , , , , ,

Gosh. I hadn’t realised that I’d neglected this blog for so long. The garden’s certainly been busy enough, but as I expected, it’s all too easy for me to fall out of the habit of posting.

Well, let’s see…the ‘Music’ garlic got planted about three weeks ago. I was really pleased with the results of the one head I got last year, so this year I got six heads. A couple days ago I planted some new black tulips; this time it’s ‘Paul Scherer’ and it will be interesting to compare it to the ‘Queen of the Night’ tulips I already have. Rounding out the black flower collection, I planted one Fritillaria persica as well.

Pretty much all the tropicals and tender plants are indoors by now, except the dahlia ‘Karma Chocolate’. Although there have been a couple of frosty nights already, it seems quite happy on the front patio, which is fairly sheltered. When it finally does die down, I’ll just cut off the dead foliage and move the whole pot into the basement. I gave the three potted jasmines (Jasminum sambac) a really hard pruning and when I brought them in; they’ll readapt better to indoor conditions that way and hopefully it meant I got the entirety of the plants when I sprayed for whitefly afterwards.

There’s so much more I could write about, but that’s it for now. Fall pruning and cleanup is the ongoing job at the moment: the tomato and cucumber plants are already gone and it’s too chilly to expect much more out of the ‘Albion’ strawberries.

