Tags

, , , , , ,

Actually, more like straight from winter to summer. It hardly felt as if we had a spring this year.

Well, let’s see…everything that goes outside for summer is out and the bay window looks bare now. Somehow the ‘Lemon’ cucumbers are blooming already (cucurbits always open with male flowers first) and I really really hope the beetles stay away this year. The elder flowers (Sambucus canadensis) are set to open, the roses are opening and the American arnica (Arnica chamissonis) is in full bloom. There’s a slight lull in the general blooming at the moment; there usually is during the phasing of spring into summer.

I spent most of my garden time today and yesterday weeding. Now we’ve had some regular rainfall, the ground is soft enough to get everything up by the roots; living on clay means when it’s dry, it’s also hard as a brick and attempts to weed simply result in the top growth coming off and leaving the rootstock behind to haunt you again. My point? My index finger and thumb are sore. Wah.

Besides the weeding, I also planted out the ‘Red Burgundy’ okra (Abelmoschus esculentus) plants yesterday, and a couple of butterfly peas (Clitoria ternatea). The last of the overwintering Eastern Black Swallowtail chrysalides eclosed and flew off today, and I’m quite certain that the caterpillar I found feeding on the giant blue hyssop (Agastache foeniculum) last month is going to turn into a moth. Oh, and I gave a couple of the bonsai a much-needed pruning.

