Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

…and I’ve barely begun spring plant shopping.

More! houseplants to add to the already overcrowded jungle that my front room is becoming has become. Got a Stella fig plant (Ficus carica ‘Stella’), probably about a year or two before it starts flowering; an ‘Attar of Roses’ geranium (Pelargonium ‘Attar of Roses’), and a dwarf pomegranate (Punica granatum var. nana). Those can all go outside for summer of couse; it’s during winter that things get crowded indoors… I haven’t decided yet if to bonsai (yes, I verbed) the pomegranate or let it grow as large as I can let it. Speaking of bonsai, I’m having second thoughts about turning those two wild cherries (Prunus serotina and P. virginiana) into bonsai…they’re so vigorous and wild growing, and one of them is already suckering like mad.

Anyway, the tomato and cucumber seedlings are coming along, as is one little Gum Arabic (Senegalia senegal, formerly Acacia senegal) plant. I started six seeds at around the same time as the tomatoes, but never mentioned it because they’re supposed to be pretty tricky to germinate. Of the six, one rotted away right after, and one has sprouted. The rest are just sitting there, so I guess it hasn’t gone too badly.

Outdoors, the camassia (Camassia quamash) bulbs planted last fall still haven’t sprouted, so I’m expecting the worst. The tulips and irises are coming along like a house on fire. The liverworts (Anemone hepatica var. acuta) are blooming, and the bloodroot (Sanguinaria canadensis) and marsh marigold (Caltha palustris) will soon follow. And today I picked a little basket of weed violets (Viola odorata) for salad. Sometimes there’s so much to do in the garden it makes the head spin.

