Tags

, , ,

Right, so…roses have been burlapped and the rain barrels are in. Most of the container plants are under cover except a few very hardy herbs: feverfew (Tanacetum parthenium), parsley (Petroselinum crispum) and some potted garlic and walking/Egyptian onions (Allium sativum and A. x proliferum). The feverfew will eventually go under shelter, but I don’t know if I’ll bother keeping the parsley; I’m not a big parsley person and being biennial it’s not as productive in its second year (that I’ve noticed at least). It’ll probably go in the garage with the rest. Alliums in general are super cold hardy, so they can stay outside in a sheltered spot.

I know technically winter begins on December 21st (this year), but around here it really begins in mid to late November. If anyone from a milder climate is reading this, that’s why it seems I’m rushing to get the garden ready for winter. Or as one neighbour teases me, put baby to bed.

Sorry if the last few posts have been somewhat repetitive; I suppose I’ve been using the blog as a checklist of reminders

