Tags

, , , , ,

Had the first real snowfall of the year today. It wasn’t much, not even enough to shovel, but it was noticeable.

The castor beans (Ricinus communis) ‘New Zealand Purple’ went on the compost heap yesterday, and next year’s Jerusalem artichokes (Helianthus tuberosus) are planted. They weren’t as productive this year as they usually are. The last of the radishes (Raphanus sativus) are in, but the experiment to get a fall crop of baby beets (Beta vulgaris) didn’t work. Perhaps if I’d started them earlier? But then the weather would have been hot and the seedlings prefer cool weather.

I also moved one of the rosebushes yesterday, the ‘Excitement’ yellow rose. It wasn’t a major relocation, only about six inches, but it will make a difference in the layout of the rose bed. All the roses that need it have been mounded up, but the burlapping still has to be done.

Let’s see, what else…the garden hose has been drained and the downspout has been rediverted but the rain barrels really need to be emptied before they freeze. Most of the containers are under cover, but I keep forgetting to bring the potted dahlias in for storage. I hope I haven’t left it too late; it hasn’t gotten too cold yet but you never know with container plants.

I suppose when all that’s been done, along with some final leaf raking and minor cleanup, that’s it for the garden this year. Then for three or four months I’ll have to content myself with the struggles of indoor gardening.

Just to keep this blog going through winter (or I might never start again in spring), I think I might make an occasional (weekly?) post about one of the plants I have. It won’t be apropos of anything, just to keep my hand in. Blogs aren’t really my natural habitat, despite how long-winded I get in these posts.

