Tags

, , ,

Weird. We had the first real frost on Hallowe’en night and I was sure the castor beans (Ricinus communis) would melt, and probably the ‘Arabian Night’ dahlias, but they’re all still alive. A little worse for wear, but alive. Interesting; there was even ice in the backyard. Maybe they’ll die over a couple days, but I seem to remember them withering overnight last year; the four o’clocks (Mirabilis jalapa) did.  Oh well. Plenty to do in the meantime.

That’s unusually late for the first fall frost around here. Hopefully it will trigger full dormancy in more things, because it’s getting a little chilly to just potter about.

And oh dear…at least one of the rhizome bits from the water lily (Nymphaea odorata) that I dropped in the aquarium has started sprouting already. I think I’ve given myself some troubles with that.

