Tags

,

As suggested, the Eastern Black Swallowtail (Papilio polyxenes) I’d been following on this blog eclosed this morning. The other shock is that another one also eclosed at the same time. This makes two that pupated later eclosing at the same time or before. I really wonder if the diet makes a difference, but one dill-fed caterpillar doesn’t count as a scientific trial.

Anyway, I wasn’t going to bother take pictures and post them, but both of them were females, so I did for a comparison.

EBS20Imago3This is the blog butterfly. I wasn’t able to take a picture of it on my finger as usual because it was really fiesty and wouldn’t stay put. I actually had to catch it once it flew off into the window and started battering itself against the panes. That’s why the wings look slightly worn at the tips. It’s on the heliotrope here, sitting quietly for the first time.

The large amount of iridescent blue on the wings indicate that this is a female, in addition to significantly less yellow compared to the male.

EBS21Imago4This is the other one; it’s a rather overexposed photo, but shows the details of the wing pattern more clearly.

There are six more EBS pupae waiting to eclose, but there’s no way to tell how many have decided to enter diapause and won’t eclose until spring. That is, not for another week or so and then count which ones haven’t emerged.

I think this concludes the EBS blog.

Um…garden stuff, garden stuff…I need to repot the turmeric. A couple of them have split their pots. I never expected to successfully keep them growing through last winter and now the rhizomes have gone their own way. Having proven that I can, though, I’ve gotten it out of my system, so I think this year I will let them dry out and then harvest the rhizomes.

