Tags

, , , ,

The bottle gentian (Gentiana andrewsii) is open. And by open, I mean not open. Bottle gentian flowers never open; they remain looking like oversized purple buds. It takes bumblebees, which are heavy and strong enough to force their way into the flowers, to pollinate them.

Harvested the last of the onions today. Fresh onions are good. And a few beetroots. Also the elderberries (Sambucus canadensis) are coming in. Now all I need are some Grue Goo and human bones to grind into meal for elderbury pie. (Don’t mind me, it’s from an old computer game.)

The mystery eggs on the sky-blue aster (Symphyotrichum oolentangiense) have hatched, but I’m no closer to an ID for them. The caterpillars are still tiny and don’t look like anything I’ve been able to find pictures of, but often caterpillars will change appearance and behaviour dramatically as they get older. Of course, there are larvae that look like caterpillars but aren’t.

