Tags

, , , , , ,

Potatoes and beetroots are planted. I don’t really grow these as a main crop; just a few for the hell of it. One English oak (Quercus robur) and one white ash (Fraxinus americana) have been bonsai’d. Let’s see if they survive. I don’t have the room for a lot of trees, and I’d rather not put invasive exotic species into circulation (hello English oak), so bonsai it is. As for the ash, I’d want to look up the current government regulations (if any) on those because of all the recent problems with emerald ash borer beetles.

Why do I have them at all? Well, the squirrels plant a lot of acorns, and there are a number of ash trees around and the seeds are spread by wind. I’m the mad sort of gardener who’ll let anything grow just to see what it is, and then feel bad if I have to kill it later. It’s actually very educational, but it does give rise to its own set of problems…such as the three wild cherries (Prunus serotina and P. virginiana [I think]), two more white ashes, one (possibly two) more English oak, and a couple Siberian elms that are all waiting in pots to be turned into bonsai. Actually, since the cherry trees are native species, I’ll hold off and let them grow another year, then put them up for sale. But I’ll root-prune them anyway just in case.

I was so pleasantly surprised to see that the three potted Jack-in-the-pulpits (Arisaema triphyllum) that were supposed to be in last year’s autumn plant sale have sprouted. One of the problems with herbaceous woodland plants is that if they’re transplanted or dug up, they often get sulky and go dormant early, and then you can’t tell if they’re dead or just dormant until next spring. Had the same problem with the bleeding hearts (Dicentra sp.). Since I was the one who had to look after them, it’s a bit of a vindication for me, even though the person who put them into the sale did tell me they were sulking. I do tend to take it personally when plants in my care die.

Today’s weather: 12C and sunny.

