Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Okay, I’m convinced it’s spring now. I had a furtle around in the garden and poked through the winter mulch (basically just fallen leaves) and some things are showing through at last. In the herb bed, it’s just the chives (Allium schoenoprasum), garlic chives (A. tuberosum), and garlic (A. sativum) right now, which is pretty much what you’d expect. Alliums are pretty cold hardy and are always among the first things to show up in the herb garden.

As for the flowers, liverwort (Anemone hepatica var. acuta, formerly Hepatica acutiloba), bottle gentian (Gentiana andrewsii), and bee balm (Monarda didyma) are showing up. Oddly, the bloodroot (Sanguinaria canadensis) isn’t showing at all, and I’d expect that around now too…maybe I’m overfussing, because it is one of my favourite flowers. The astilbes (Astilbe spp.) I’ve been keeping for my Master Gardener group (in the garage) have also sprouted, so those came out today, along with some baby trees.

Tomorrow evening is the monthly meeting of said Master Gardeners, so I probably won’t get a chance to do much more mucking around until Friday. Although I uncovered the roses several days ago, I didn’t unmound them. They all look pretty hard hit, so a good pruning will probably be in order.

Today’s weather: 10C and sunny.

